Giuseppe Zanotti x Zayn Malik 2017 Collaboration


Here is the first look at the collaboration between Zayn Malik and Giuseppe Zanotti! Check out the full interview at Vogue.com. (source)

How did the idea for a shoe collaboration with Giuseppe Zanotti come about?

When Mr. Zanotti and I first met at Paris Fashion Week last year we realized that even though what we each do, music and shoe design, could be seen as worlds apart, we had a lot in common in how we approach and style them. I like things which are a bit dark and weird, and Mr. Zanotti isn’t afraid to play with those elements either. The process of designing my collection has been really fun as a result!

Most of the shoes you designed together have a boot-like silhouette and come in neutral colors—why did you gravitate toward this style?

I wanted to mix up the iconic rock ’n’ roll styles like boots, which are quite hard, with organic colors. I think the mix makes them feel quite classic.

What were some of your inspirations for the designs?

I’m always sketching down ideas and designs. I draw and paint a lot, so when it came to the shoes, I think that the ideas were already in my mind, somewhere. It was just a matter of putting them together. I take influence from everything I see, and I think when you look at all of the things I make from music, my merchandise, and these shoes that they all have a darker aesthetic.

About art8amby

A good source for an Uber Cool Persona. View all posts by art8amby

Leave a Reply

